Welcome

Welcome to the wonderful world of Animated Rhapsody! If you love stories told through animation, this is the place for you. Whether it’s computer-generated or hand drawn,  Western-style or anime, full-length feature or tv show, I’m all over it.

Why animation?

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m no art buff. While I can admire beautiful visuals, I’m afraid I don’t know too much about animation techniques, or the really artsy side of animation. So don’t expect any kind of in-depth critiques of that stuff here. What draws me to animation is the effortless way it makes the impossible possible. Whether it’s talking animals, super-human powers, or fantastic worlds, animation brings wonder and whimsy to life in a way even the biggest budget live action films can’t match.

What kinds of animation?

Like I said, I enjoy all forms of animation. In this blog, I plan to focus on Disney and its competitors, films and shows that I grew up with, and current animated shows that I follow, most prominently The Legend of Korra (and of course the original Avatar the Last Airbender) and Young Justice. I am a huge fan of animated superhero media, so expect to see a lot about that.

What will you talk about?

Pretty much whatever I feel like. 🙂 Sometimes, I’ll review new releases, sometimes older works. I’ll compare works to each other, make ridiculously subjective Top Ten Lists, and gripe about things I don’t like.

So, let’s get started.

Leave a comment